FANUC CRX-30iA Palletizers Compared: AMT, BA Palletizer, MOD-PAL and Others

Compare published AMT, BA Palletizer, MOD-PAL and RIG information while separating robot payload from case weight, rate claims and configuration-specific limits.

A FANUC CRX-30iA palletizer is a complete application built around a robot. Sharing a robot model does not make two cells equivalent in case weight, throughput, installed space or recovery behavior. The useful comparison is the offered cell configuration handling the same products and pallet patterns.

This comparison uses public manufacturer and partner information checked on October 16, 2026. Some listings span several robot versions; their numbers should remain provisional until the supplier identifies the exact build being quoted.

What AMT announced, and when

AMT’s own announcement is dated May 29, 2025. It describes a CRX-30iA-based palletizing solution with a custom interface for entering case dimensions and selecting patterns, plus mobility between lines. Packaging World’s supplier-attributed item is dated September 25, 2026; that later publication is not evidence of a new 2026 launch or independent testing.

The AMT release gives a starting price of $120K and claims typical payback within a year. It does not provide a numerical system footprint, case rate or maximum individual case weight. Those gaps prevent a complete capacity or installed-cost comparison from the release alone.

Published values, with their original units

Each linked row refers to its own public configuration description. “Not stated” means absent from the cited page, not unavailable from the supplier.

Solution and source Published rate Published case/product weight Published footprint or layout Published height
AMT release Not stated Not stated as case weight No numeric dimensions Not stated
BA Palletizer 4 cases/min single-case pick; 8 cases/min double-case pick Maximum 25 kg / 55 lb per case 11 ft × 6.75 ft, wings extended Maximum pallet height 68 in
MOD-PAL Maximum 7 cases/min, single pick and place Not stated as case weight 142 × 148 in Maximum unit-load height 65 in
RIG Palletizer 6+ picks/min with vision Products up to 50 lb Layout dimensions 9 ft 2 in × 12 ft 3 in Stack height up to 60 in

The BA page’s narrative names a CRX-25iA while its compatibility section lists CRX-30iA. Ask Motion Controls Robotics which robot and tooling the tabulated values cover. The MOD-PAL page presents MOD-PAL30PRO and lists CRX-30iA compatibility with product-specific end-of-arm tooling. RIG lists several compatible CRX models, including CRX-30iA; its family-level figures do not prove identical performance for every model.

Do not rank the rate column as though picks, cases and multi-case picks were interchangeable. Request cases per completed pallet over an agreed interval, including pallet exchange, sheet handling and representative operator approaches. For space, obtain one dimensioned installation drawing showing pallet replacement, conveyor interfaces, access and the assessed protective zones. Public footprint labels do not establish identical boundaries.

Robot payload is not the allowed case weight

FANUC’s current robot page lists a 30 kg maximum payload and separately describes a 40 kg wrist-down option. Neither number establishes the permissible box weight of a quoted cell. The same page contains conflicting reach information, so this comparison intentionally gives no confirmed reach value. Request the applicable model drawing and loading documentation.

For the proposed gripper, have the supplier verify the complete carried assembly, product, offsets and motion against that documentation. Confirm whether any optional payload mode is supplied and applicable. Do not transfer an option’s rating to an existing or differently configured machine.

Turn a starting price into a comparable budget

AMT’s price and payback statements are supplier claims, not a complete installed quotation or measured investment outcome. Ask for an itemized scope covering tooling, conveyors, protective equipment, controls interfaces, installation, training and acceptance. Resolve WMS or plant-network integration separately; a general integration statement does not define a working interface.

Our suggested financial comparison is to divide the complete installed investment by the annual net benefit under explicit assumptions. Record staffing actually redeployed, shifts, required output, downtime, maintenance and operating costs. Check the result when fewer productive hours or higher integration costs are assumed. See the project-cost guide for scope categories.

Evidence to obtain before choosing a configuration

OSHA’s robot-system guidance treats application risk assessment as a system matter, including the tool, workpiece and surrounding equipment. A collaborative robot name or supplier statement about an unfenced layout cannot settle the protective measures for your installation.

Ask each supplier to demonstrate the same case list and layer recipes, including the heaviest permitted case, the highest placement and an interrupted-cycle recovery. Require a written operating mode, installed layout, accepted throughput measurement and support scope. Confirm current delivery dates and configuration availability directly. The public data above supports a shortlist of questions; it does not demonstrate that one solution is superior.

Sources and scope

Source dates refer to the material consulted, not independent performance verification.

  1. FANUC America: CRX-30iA

    Public 30 kg robot payload listing and separate wrist-down payload option; inconsistent reach information is excluded from the comparison

    Undated product page, accessed October 16, 2026 · Checked October 16, 2026
  2. AMT Launches Flexible CRX-Based Collaborative Palletizing Solution

    AMT announcement date, CRX-30iA basis, custom interface, mobility, starting-price and payback claims; release does not publish a case rate or numeric system footprint

    May 29, 2025 manufacturer announcement · Checked October 16, 2026
  3. FANUC CRX Cobot and Go: BA Palletizer

    Listed case rate, maximum case weight, footprint and pallet height; CRX-25iA narrative differs from CRX-30iA compatibility listing

    Undated partner listing, accessed October 16, 2026 · Checked October 16, 2026
  4. FANUC America Robot and Go: MOD-PAL

    MOD-PAL30PRO presentation, CRX-30iA compatibility, single-pick case rate, footprint, load height and product-specific tooling

    Undated partner listing, accessed October 16, 2026 · Checked October 16, 2026
  5. FANUC CRX Cobot and Go: RIG Palletizer

    Multiple CRX compatibilities including CRX-30iA; published picks per minute, product weight, layout and stack height require offered-configuration confirmation

    Undated partner listing, accessed October 16, 2026 · Checked October 16, 2026
  6. OSHA Technical Manual: Industrial Robot Systems and Industrial Robot System Safety

    Application risk assessment includes robot, end effector, workpiece and surrounding equipment; collaborative branding does not establish an application safety solution

    Online Chapter 4, accessed October 16, 2026 · Checked October 16, 2026
  7. Packaging World: AMT Launches Flexible CRX-Based Collaborative Palletizing Solution

    September 25, 2026 publication date and supplier attribution only; not treated as an independent product test

    September 25, 2026 supplier-attributed product article · Checked October 16, 2026

Published by DeltaSpark. Editorial policy · Corrections and contact

Continue reading